Dartmouth High School's Rick White named ...


The New England Patriots Charitable Foundation will donate $2,000 to Dartmouth High School’s football program in White’s name.

Read more

Wahconah Regional High School's Gary Campbell ...


The New England Patriots Charitable Foundation will donate $1,000 to Wahconah Regional High School’s football program in Campbell’s name.

Read more

Walpole High School's Barry Greener named ...


Walpole High School’s Barry Greener has been named this week’s New England Patriots High School Coach of the Week after Walpole’s 28-14 win over Medfield in the MIAA Division 3 ...

Read more

Middleborough High School’s Pat Kingman named ...


The New England Patriots Charitable Foundation will donate $1,000 to Middleborough High School’s football program in Kingman’s name.

Read more

News archive

Decorative bottom edge of the left column
Decorative top edge of the right column

The Bill Knight Award


Foxborough, Mass. (October 21, 2010) - The Most Outstanding Player of the inaugural Colonial Clash (Saturday, Oct. 23 at 3:30 p.m. at Gillette Stadium) will receive the Bill Knight Award.

The award is named after the long-time Sports Information Director at New Hampshire. Knight passed away in November of 1985.  In addition to his duties at UNH, Knight was a past President of the New England Sports Information Directors Association, a member of the U.S. Olympic Committee at the 1984 Winter Games and a recipient of the Irving T. Marsh ECAC Service Bureau Award. He also served as the Information Officer of the Yankee Conference. Knight was inducted into the University of New Hampshire 100 Club Hall of Fame on October 2, 1987.  

Former Bill Knight Award recipients will serve as Honorary Captains of the 2010 Colonial Clash. Representing the University of New Hampshire will be David Ball, Bob Jean, Stephan Lewis, Mike Foley and Matt Parent.  Representing the University of Massachusetts will be Dave Palazzi.

Saturday’s rivalry game between the University of Massachusetts and the University of New Hampshire will be the first college football game played at Gillette Stadium.

Fans hoping to enjoy the excitement of college football when Minutemen and Wildcats alumni, students, fans, cheerleaders and marching bands invade Gillette Stadium can purchase tickets for $25, which includes parking.  A group price is available for groups of 20 or more at $20 per person, which also includes parking. Individuals can purchase tickets via www.ticketmaster.com or by calling 800-745-3000. Fans purchasing group tickets should call 877-438-7387.  

The excitement begins Saturday with the UMass and UNH alumni receptions at Patriot Place beginning at 12:30 p.m. followed by institutional pep rallies featuring the respective marching bands at 1:30 p.m. The Gillette Stadium parking lots will open at 9 a.m. for those interested in visiting Patriot Place restaurants, retail shops, the Patriots ProShop or the Hall at Patriot Place Presented by Raytheon. Tailgating will be permitted in the parking lots beginning at 12:30 p.m.

Past recipients of the Bill Knight Trophy are: Tim Bryant, QB, UMass (1986), Bob Jean, QB, UNH (1987); Dave Palazzi, QB, UMass (1988); Gary Wilkos, QB, UMass (1989); Matt Griffin, QB, UNH (1990 and 1991); Jim Stayer, QB, UNH (1992); John Johnson, FB, UMass (1993); Mike Foley, DE, UNH (1994); Jerry Azumah, TB, UNH (1995, 1996 and 1997); Marcel Shipp, TB, UMass (1998); Adrian Zullo, WR, UMass (1999); Stephan Lewis, TB, UNH (2000, 2001 and 2002); Jason Peebler, WR, UMass (2003); Steve Baylark, TB, UMass (2004); David Ball, WR, UNH (2005); Jason Hatchell, DE, UMass (2006); Matt Lawrence, TB, UMass (2007); Matt Parent, LB, UNH (2008), and Jon Hernandez, RB, UMass (2009).